2017 Award Winners

IPMS Phoenix/Craig Hewitt Chapter Annual Awards

 Every year at our Christmas party, we present a couple of our members with awards to honor them for their service. 
Those awards are the Pat Fowler Member of the Year Award, and the Modeler of the Year Award
Below is some basic information about the awards along with a list of the recipients.

"Pat Fowler Member of the Year Award"

Started in 2001, this is an award given to the member who has done the most for the club that year. 
It is essentially a service award, and generally is only awarded once to a person.  
The chapter president nominates a name or two and the entire executive board affirms the choice.  
 Note that there is nothing written in the by-laws about this award.  
The name of the trophy is the Golden Corsair, which is a deliberately cheesy gold-painted metal model of an F4U Corsair.

Tim Bongard
What else can you say about someone who always goes above and beyond by putting others first.  Tim has been tireless not only in the last year,
but since he became a member of IPMS Phoenix. Without Tim’s dedication to the club, I don’t know how we would have succeeded. 
He spent 2016 making sure the club had everything it needed.  Starting first by being elected Treasurer, Tim powered through making sure that all the club members would have new name badges. He continually goes out of his way to use his molding and casting experience to help club members out. 
Tim also stepped up to be a major player in the 2017 club Group Build by offering his word working skills to make the large base display. 
IPMS Phoenix is so proud to have Tim as the 2016 Member of the Year.
Lyn Gorton
Talk about hitting the ground running, Lyn epitomizes the phrase.  From the first meeting Lyn attended, he started volunteering. 
Whether it was helping out at the monthly club judging, taking part in numerous Make and Takes in town or helping out at the
club’s booth at Saboten-con, Lyn is a true asset to this organization.  Lyn made sure to get involved in any way possible. 
He has helped out Modelzona with numerous types of assistance both in the planning and execution. 
Through his unwavering efforts, Lyn is a model (get it)of what new members should be and we are so proud to have him as the
2016 Rookie of the Year.
Wendell Rogers
Any person brave enough to tackle being the Modelzona Chairperson is worthy of heaps of praise. 
But to do it for the last several years in a row?  That is worthy of so much more. ongoing years of dedication to the club. 
Tackling a demanding role as Modelzona Chairperson is something that Wendell has never flinched at.
He continues to make Modelzona one of the largest and most successful scale model contests in the United States. 
He is always able to deftly handle any situation that arises.  Beyond Modelzona, Wendell has been a staple of the
club and contributed to several club Group Builds. 
Thank you so much for your hard work Wendell.
IPMS Phoenix is so honored to bestow the 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award upon Wendell Rogers